How I rig my Sunfish…..

Here’s some measurements and videos on how I rig my outhall, vang, cunningham, and jens rig (which I sail with all the time).  This section comes with a big disclaimer.  Rig setting are tough because there’s such a variety of settings and sailing styles at the top of the class.

I sail with a Foerster Jens rig.  Apparently, Paul Foerster invented the rig.  I’m not sure if he really did, but it’s an ingenious rig because it’s relatively simple and offers some flexibility in terms of adjusting the length of the jens and adjusting boom height while on the water.  I don’t sail with both a jens and a halyard just because I don’t like all the lines in the boat.  Keep it simple.

 

Rigging Specs

Clove Hitch for jens rig.  The top of the spar is towards the bottom of this picture.

Clove Hitch Pic

Here’s how to tie the knot.  I call it a double Clove Hitch.

Sunfish Jens Knot_Schmitt 1

Here’s how I set up the Foerster Jens.  The like the rig because you can adjust your boom height/gooseneck height while on the water.  You can set it an inch off the deck or raise the boom two feet.  This allows you to adjust your gooseneck height based on the wind and associated vang tension without taking your rig down.

Here’s my cunningham rig….

Here’s my outhaul rig…..

Leave a comment